Focus Pocus

24 Sep

Discipline is harder to come by these days. I used to be able to justify procrastination, arguing that a) like grapes, the greatest ideas take time to ferment, b) I am one who works well under pressure, and/or c) the proverbial writing Muse is hard to get but worth the chase. Cramming school requirements has been my lifestyle for the past 6 years, with a few notable exceptions (so few that I can actually remember each instance). Most outputs done in this fashion have, [un?]fortunately, culled notable scores. Following the principles of operant conditioning,  the reinforced and rewarded behavior has thus become a habit.

I dislike scrimping on effort, and sometimes I fear failure more than I like success. That is why I don’t think twice about staying up — or indeed, waiting till the last minute — when pursuing the right word, the right phrase, the right title. But I’m growing tired of sleepless nights and groggy mornings. And I hate feeling that I’ve shortchanged requirements in other subjects in favor of one particular academic endeavor. Next semester, I promise to polish my productivity skills. It’s high time I learned that a) cutting classes to make up for other requirements is like pouring vinegar on a wound and slapping on a bandaid, and b) time is made, not found.

One Response to “Focus Pocus”

  1. thatsmeian October 12, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    That’s true. I think we really need to work on our time management ’cause that’s the key to everything – happiness, peace of mind, sleep to name a few.

    Like for my part, I fixed my schedule of final requirements a few weeks back and I’m glad that I was able to finish them all in time (although there were some that I still crammed).

    It’s about time we unlearn cramming🙂 Say hello to a better semester!

Leave a Reply

