Bargain musings

25 Jul

In a matter of days, I’ll be blowing 19 candles on what would hopefully be a dark chocolate and cherry cake. In a matter of months, I’ll be among the latest sunflower children of UP Diliman, shifting the sablay from the left to the right shoulder in parting with my alma mater, and in anticipation for what awaits outside it.

The past few weeks marked the last of many firsts, and the first of many lasts. This Bargain Muse venture is among my firsts, and I hope to make it last for as long as I can.

The idea for this blog came to me one day on a trip to my favorite wonderland, an ukay-ukay. My browser has seen its fair share of fashion blogs, most of which feature branded clothes or accessories equivalent to anywhere from 1 to 15 unit/s of my tuition. Not that there’s anything inherently bad about that. Everyone’s free to spend their resources the way they want to, after all.

For my own part, I believe spending isn’t a pre-requisite to a diverse wardrobe. Each article of clothing is an investment – just as there are costly options, there are also those to be had at a much cheaper price. And as I’ve discovered time and time again, relatively lower prices do not have to equate to tacky designs or poor quality.

Bargain Muse celebrates this affordable ingenuity. There is value (and unparalleled thrill!) in getting not just more, but the mostest bang for your buck. This blog is an account of the little treasures I find amid yard sales, stuffy thrift stores and unkempt cardboard boxes – clothes and trinkets that lay still on their racks, begging to be rescued from their neon plastic hangers.

At the very most, I hope to encourage others to explore the infinite possibilities of bargain shopping. At the very least, I hope to meet others who share similar interests, particularly the idea that one need not shell out too much to dress presentably.

Cheers!

2 Responses to “Bargain musings”

  1. Karmela July 27, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    “I hope to meet others who share similar interests”<—that includes me, i think hahaha….although i spend only 1/4 of my money on bargain clothes. 3/4 are spent on books. i'll be dressing in rags soon

    • Angel Britanico July 27, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      pleased to meet you! haha. your clothes are hardly rags. and even if they were, kebs. literature never goes out of style.❤

Leave a Reply

