26 Jul

Squarepants and Goody Blue Shoes

A week shy of my first year in college, I bought a pencil case with SpongeBob’s googly eyes as its design. That first purchase launched a humble collection of anything yellow, square, buck-toothed and porous.

We moved to a new home when I was a sophomore. After 16 years, I could finally enjoy the independence that came with having my own room. When I opened the door for the first time, I beheld my mother’s thoughtful little surprise — a fluffy comforter featuring numerous pajama-clad SpongeBobs. So much for feeling like a grown-up. 

I haven’t watched a single episode of SpongeBob since 2009, and it’s been ages since I’ve added any new memorabilia. In fact, I’ve given away some of the items as gifts to fellow enthusiasts, mostly kids. But there are some things in my erstwhile collection that I simply cannot dispense with.

This bright yellow jacket is one of them. We’ve been together three years; it’s among those articles of clothing I’m unlikely to give up, unless it gives up on me first. 

I love how the jacket adds instant cheer to any outfit, especially during the rainy season. It also makes the more formal pieces in my wardrobe, like this Vera Wang dress (P350) from an export overruns store, a little more dressed down for a school day. 

The fresh take on the Mary Jane is from one of my favorite shoemakers, the Marikina-based Landi & Nuti. 

Ribbons of all colors and sizes are a staple in my wardrobe. The one featured here was a birthday gift from last year, along with the teal bangle. 

Leave a Reply

