Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol dedicates “Lifening” to Filipino flood victims

10 Aug

“I’d like to offer this song with our deepest respect and deepest sympathies to your country as a healing gesture at this time. To those who have lost their homes and indeed, their lives…This song is about my family, and my home, and I can’t think what it would be like if it was taken from me. And I’d like to offer this song to all, out of respect to your grace, and your humanity, and your kindness. Thank you all. Thank you all. I’ll never forget this.”

 ♥

Snow Patrol performs “Lifening” at the Araneta Coliseum on August 9 for the Manila leg of their Fallen Empires tour. The Irish band dedicated the song to the Filipino families and individuals affected by the torrential rains and floods caused by a recent monsoon.

Leave a Reply

